
The Small 
Business Health 
Options Program

Covered California for Small 
Business is a marketplace 
for small businesses to 
obtain quality, affordable 
health insurance for their 
employees.

Covered California for Small Business
Covered California for Small Business (CCSB) is a health insurance marketplace specifically 
designed for small businesses.

Covered California provides small businesses with 100 or fewer full-time equivalent employees 
a choice of competitively priced health insurance plans from private insurance companies, so 
both the employer and their employees can find a plan that fits their needs and budget.

What is Covered California for Small Business?
CCSB offers small businesses health insurance plans with quality health benefits and four 
defined levels of coverage...Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum. 

Through CCSB, small business owners can compare and select group health 
plans from many brand-name health insurance carriers.

Employers can choose one or two metal tier plans to offer employees and define the amount 
they will contribute towards their employee premium. Each employee may then choose a 
health plan that meets their needs within the employer’s defined level(s) of coverage. CCSB 
enrolls eligible employees in their selected health plan and consolidates employer billing into 
one monthly invoice. Employers may also choose to offer dependent coverage and have the 
option to contribute towards dependent premiums.

Small businesses have the option to enroll in small business health insurance plans at any time 
throughout the year. Once an employer has enrolled, coverage and premiums are guaranteed 
for 12 months from the coverage effective date. Newly eligible employees may be added during 
the plan year.

Health Insurance Made Simple

Covered California for Small Business 
is the only place where qualified small 
businesses* are able to qualify for federal 
tax credits to help pay for the cost of 
providing health coverage to employees.

*Consult with your professional tax adviser.



Who is eligible to participate?
Employers with 100 or fewer full-time-equivalent employees are eligible for coverage through CCSB.  
At least one employee must receive a W-2 tax form at the end of the year for the business to be eligible.  
If you are self-employed, without any employees, you are not eligible to enroll; however,  
Covered California’s Individual Marketplace may be an option for you and your dependents.

Employees that are eligible for coverage include:

n	Full time employees (30+ hours per week)

n	Part-time employees (20-29 hours per week) at the employer’s discretion

Health Insurance Made Easy

With Dual Tier Choice, employers select their contribution level and reference plan as before, but now 
employers can pick two adjoining metallic tiers – Bronze + Silver, Silver + Gold, or Gold + Platinum – to 
offer employees instead of just one.

Because employees have the opportunity to compare and select health plans at a variety of price points, 
the result is greater choice and coverage more closely tailored to individual needs.

What are your plan options?
CCSB offers small businesses the ability to provide employees with more choices for health coverage at no 
additional cost by introducing a two-tier model called “Dual Tier Choice.”

Do we have to 
offer employees 
insurance?

The health care law does 
not require small businesses 
with fewer than 50 full-time 
equivalent employees to 
offer health insurance for 
their employees. Although 
not required, employers 
often choose to offer health 
insurance to recruit and 
retain the best talent.

Small businesses that 
choose not to offer 
coverage can encourage 
their employees to contact 
Covered California to buy 
individual coverage for 
themselves and/or  
their families. 

Employers with 50 or 
more full-time equivalent 
employees may be 
subject to penalties if 
they do not offer their 
eligible employees (and 
their dependents) the 
opportunity to enroll  
in minimum essential  
health coverage.

Adult Dental
Employers have the option of offering stand-alone voluntary dental coverage for adults. Dental benefits 
are employee paid with no additional cost to employers, allowing businesses to expand benefit offerings 
without increasing benefits cost.



How will CCSB help your business?
Competitive advantage. Providing health insurance helps keep your employees healthy, happy and 
productive. Covered California for Small Business offers quality coverage to help attract and retain top  
talent for your business. Also, preventing illness reduces absenteeism and increases productivity. 

Expanded and affordable options. You have the option to choose the level(s) of coverage to offer employees, 
compare health plan benefits, and premiums, and ultimately make the best decision for your business and 
budget. Qualified businesses may be eligible for a tax credit by purchasing health insurance through Covered 
California for Small Business.

Employer control, employee choice. Covered California allows employers to choose which level(s) of 
coverage to provide their employees and how much to contribute toward premiums. Each employee may  
then choose a health plan that meets their needs within the coverage levels.

Enrollment tools and support. Employers can receive in-person enrollment assistance at no cost from 
Certified Insurance Agents.

Online account management. Manage employee enrollment, including renewals and terminations, and 
upload change forms for employees switching plans or updating information.

Will your business be eligible for tax credits?
As a small business owner, you may qualify for a federal tax credit to help offset the cost of providing health 
insurance to your employees. To qualify for a tax credit, employers must contribute at least 50 percent of the 
employee premium costs.

Currently, federal tax credits are only available to groups that purchase health insurance through Covered 
California for Small Business. The maximum available tax credit is 50 percent of insurance premium expenses 
and is available for a total of two consecutive years.

The employer tax credit will depend on a number of factors, including the number of full-time equivalent 
employees and the amount you contribute toward premiums. Generally, small businesses that have fewer than 
25 full-time-equivalent employees and pay an average annual salary of less than $54,000* a year will be eligible 
for the tax credit. Employers with fewer than 10 full-time-equivalent employees with wages averaging less than 
$26,000* per year may be eligible for the maximum tax credit amount.

The table in the right hand panel illustrates the tax credits to help employers —  
including tax-exempt employers — with fewer than 25 full-time-equivalent employees. The amount of the tax 
credit cannot exceed the total income and Medicare tax required to withhold from employees’ annual wages, 
plus your share of the Medicare tax. Nonprofit or tax-exempt employers must meet the same criteria as other 
small businesses; however, their tax credits will be somewhat lower.

There are resources available from Covered California that can help you understand your potential eligibility 
for tax credits.

Visit: bit.ly/CCSBtaxcredit to learn more.

Health Insurance Made Easy

Visit us at 
MyCCSB.com 
to view your 
consolidated 
monthly invoices 
online and pay 
through the 
PayNow function.

*Federal income limits subject to change. Please consult a professional tax adviser for current information.



After the employer’s application is approved by Covered California for Small Business, employees will select 
their health insurance plan using the Application for Employees.

After enrollment, employees will receive standard plan documents including ID cards and Evidence of 
Coverage form their selected health insurance carriers. An Explanation of Benefits will be sent directly  
to each participant.

Health Insurance Made Easy

To enroll, employers will need:
	 Employer name, as reported to the  

	 Employment Development Department (EDD) 

	 Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) 

	 State Employer Identification Number (SEIN) 

	 A copy of their local business license 

	 DE-9C reconciled by the employer 

	 Total number of employees 

	 Total number of full-time employees working 30+ hours per week 

	 Total number of part-time employees working 20 to 29 hours 
	 per week (if offering part-time employee coverage) 

	 Employee roster, including: address, hire date, date of birth,  
	 Social Security number or tax identification number 

	 Dependent information (if offering dependent coverage), 
	 including date of birth to determine age of the dependent

Next steps
nn Consider the advantages 

of offering health 
insurance to your 
employees.

nn Learn more about 
Covered California for 
Small Business and the 
different health plans 
available.

nn Review your budget to 
determine what options 
are best for you and your 
employees.

nn Find a Covered California 
Certified Insurance 
Agent who can help 
enroll your business.

nn Work with your tax 
professional to see if you 
qualify for the tax credit.

Obtain more 
information
Visit CoveredCA.com/
ForSmallBusiness, call 
(844) 332-8384 or contact a 
Certified Insurance Agent.

How to enroll in CCSB
Small businesses have the option to enroll whenever they choose. Once an employer has enrolled, 
coverage and premiums are guaranteed for 12 months from the coverage effective date. Newly eligible 
employees may be added during the plan year with a qualifying event.

The first step in getting your small business enrolled in CCSB is getting a quote. A CCSB Certified Insurance 
Agent can provide a quote based on your budget while also explaining coverage options and reference plans. 
To enroll in CCSB, your Certified Insurance Agent will need the following information:

How to renew
For existing members, the annual employer open enrollment period begins at least 30 days before the 
start of the next plan year. Covered California will notify employers and agents when it is time to prepare for 
their annual open enrollment. Small businesses are encouraged to contact their Certified Insurance Agent to 
learn more about the enrollment process.


